The 401st Blow :: Thoughts On Media

Would You Be My Neighbor?

Posted in Content, Television by Noah Harlan on August 21, 2009

When people ask me “what are your favorite films” or “what films influence you” I always have a hard time answering. The answers are so broad and hard to parse. There are films I love in a popcorn way, there are films that moved me, there are films that I saw at important moments in my life and all could fall under the banner of ‘favorite’.

Tonight I was sharing with a friend a great segment from an old episode of This American Life. In it Ira Glass, the moderator, tells the audience a story about his relationship to television. He talks of how television has the ability to be grand and yet you have such a deep, personal connection with your favorite shows. I think it offers something that is hard to achieve in cinema. Television brings characters into your living room and you get to see them evolve over time. I can pin specific shows to the time of day and room I would watch it in in my house growing up.

A couple days ago I stumbled across this list of the 100 Most Iconic TV Show Intros Of All Time. As I browsed the list I found ones that made my heart jump because they so viscerally brought me back to moments of my childhood. Here is a selection of a few of the ones I loved the most.

Here’s the full list of 100, which ones connect with you and why? Tell us in the comments.

3-2-1 Contact!

The Muppet Show

Magnum P.I.

Mister Rogers’ Neighborhood

Greatest American Hero

Miami Vice

Leave a Reply

