The 401st Blow :: Thoughts On Media

Without Words To Describe

Posted in Content by Noah Harlan on July 22, 2010

I don’t really have words to describe what this piece of art is.

I don’t really have words to describe how I feel about it.

It’s at once quaint and disturbing. Artless and moving. It feels alternately exploitative and sensitive. I don’t know how comfortable I am with it but I did just spend a while playing with it.

I also don’t feel quite right that I would describe my actions as “playing” with it. Perhaps it’s better to say I just explored it for a while.

Consider it an emotional trauma music video game.

Inside A Dead Skyscraper

From the creators:

What if the term “music video game” didn’t evoke images of bored college kids fiddling with pathetic plastic guitars emulating the last heroes of a declining music industry? What if indie game developers allied with indie musicians, making odd games promoting odd and unknown music while still keeping their creative autonomy the way the best music-video directors have been doing for decades? What if a song (not its beats, not its spectrum, not its amplitude!) was dictating the content of a game and not the other way around? These are the convoluted questions that the convoluted not-game/interactive-music-video “Inside a dead skyscraper” is trying to answer! May your eyebrows raise to the sky!

(via: CreativeApplications)

Leave a Reply

